HRH Sultan Ibn Salman

Official name: Republic of India
Location: India is in South Asia bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the west, and the Bay of Bengal on the east and bordering Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north-east; and Bangladesh and Myanmar to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka, Maldives, and Indonesia.
Total Land Area: 3,287,590 km2

Land boundaries: 14,103 km
Capital: New Delhi
Official Language: Hindi, English

Population: 1,027,015,248 (2001)

Show Cities of India
  • Agra

  • Islamic Monuments Of Agra
  • Andra Pradesh

  • Islamic Monuments Of Andra Pradesh
  • Delhi

  • Islamic Monuments Of Delhi

    Brief History and Architectural Features:

        Throughout the history, Delhi has been more than just one city. It served as a series of cities, a region, a state and Union Territory. Now it is the National Capital Territory of Delhi and is divided into 9 districts. It is located in central north of India, surrounded by Uttar Pradesh on the east, Haryana on the west, Yamuna River on the east and plains of northern India on the south covering a large area.

                The foundation of the city traces back to Indian epic tale, Mahabharata: a tale about two cousins, the Kauravas and the Pandavas fighting a war over the city of Indraprastha. The city was under control of many rulers, dynasties and served as the capital of several empires; the Vedic period rulers, the Turks and then Afghans during 13th to 15th centuries, and later the Mughals in the 16th century. After the Mughals there was the Sikh confederacy and empire. There are seven old cities in Delhi, each created by a different ruler, and some existing as only villages today. These old cities are Quila Rai Pithora, Mehrauli, Siri, Tughlakabad, Firozabad, Shergarh and Shahjehabanad.





        In 1206 Delhi became the capital of the Mamluk dynasty or also called as the Slave dynasty. The city was introduced to Muslim faith, culture and architecture with the Mamluk rule. In 13th century Qutubuddin initiated an islamic architecture movement in the city. In late 13th century and 14th century the city extended down southern India. The architecture of this period was mostly under Saljuqian influence. In 17th century Shah Jahan selected Delhi as his new capital. Shah Jahan also ordered the construction of Taj Mahal (1632-1648), which is the most famous building of that period, and Agra fort. The  Jama  Masjid(Friday Mosque of Old Delhi) and the  Red  Fort are two examples of the  architectural  splendour  of  the  17th century in Shahjahanabad. The Red Fort Complex was built as the palace fort of Shahjahanabad and consists of many other buildings.

        Then in 1803 the British took over the city. In 1911 the capital city of India was replaced from Kolkata to Delhi. British architects Sir Edward Lutyens and Sir Herbert were given the task of redesigning New Delhi, the eight city of Delhi. In 1947 India gained independence from the British Colonial Rule. New Delhi was officially declared as the seat of the Government of India in 1947.

  • Dholpur

  • Islamic Monuments Of Dholpur
  • Gujarat
  • Karnataka

  • Islamic Monuments Of Karnataka
  • Madhya Paradesh

  • Islamic Monuments Of Madhya Paradesh
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Search Menu

    OIC-Research Centre for Islamic History, Art and Culture (IRCICA)
    Alemdar Caddesi, No. 15, Bbl Girii Caalolu, 34110 Fatih Istanbul, Turkey 
    Phone : +90 212 402 00 00   Fax: +90 212 258 43 65

    Visitors  99426